top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Smith

Final

    Know I won’t shed a tear, just as long as you stand by me. Even though you can’t stand right next to me, which is okay because I know that if you could, you would’ve. I always think of you, and I think of what would’ve been happening if you were still here. Would you have seen me in my recital this weekend? DID you see me at my dance recital this weekend? You’ll have to forgive me for asking these things, but in your absence I just think about you, I also don’t really understand the rules of passing away for obvious reasons. I was only 2 the last time I saw you, which was 14, almost 15 years ago now, but for some reason I remember you holding an ET DVD case in your hand. That’s my only memory of you, and I promise I’m going to hold on tightly to it. I know how badly you wanted a boat, and I wish that we could’ve gotten one for you. I think if you were here we would’ve gotten it, and I bet we would’ve spent most of the summer on it too. I always hear funny stories about you, like the time you stole the table and chair set from my neighbors on accident, and how you filmed literally everything. These memories fill in the gaps of things I want to know about you, who you were, how you were. You live in the family still through the stories that we always share about you. I feel lucky to have been the only kid that got to meet you, and I can’t wait to meet you again. I promise you that I’m only sad when you have to miss things, like weddings and Elliana being born. But I’m happy most of the time because I got to meet you, and I know that you're still here with me. Know I won’t shed a tear, just as long as you stand by me.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

52

Always try your best at everything, or else you'll never know what you're truly good at. Be completely genuine and honest with people, people will always appreciate honesty, even if it hurts at first.

Life Story Rough Draft

The story that makes up me isn’t something that made me cripple in sadness, and it isn’t something that made me question why the Earth was made, or if there really is a higher power. But the event tha

bottom of page